CPL 2022: St Kitts and Nevis Patriots stay alive in the competition with a thrilling win over Trinbago Knight Riders

CPL 2022 Sherfane Rutherford helps Patriots to Stay alive

Patriots stay alive: Highlights / 26th match report of the CPL 2022 where Trinbago Knight Riders took on St Kitts and Nevis Patriots to stay alive.

Rate this post

Patriots stay alive in CPL 2022: Trinbago Knight Riders faced St Kitts and Nevis Patriots in the 26th match of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2022. The Providence Stadium in Guyana hosted this contest where the Patriots beat the Knight Riders to stay alive in the competition.

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots skipper Dwayne Bravo won the toss and opted to bat first. They got off to a steady start as they managed to score only 20 at the end of the fielding restrictions. They lost one more wicket in the seventh over. Evin Lewis’ scratchy innings of 15 came to an end in the ninth over. Sherfane Rutherford walked in to bat four and changed the whole course of the match.

Rutherford played some wonderful strokes and brought up his fifty. He was well-supported by Darren Bravo (23). In walked youngster Dewald Brevis and helped his side finish with a flourish. Rutherford departed on 78 in the last over but Brevis hit five sixes in his innings of six balls to power his side to 163 at the end of their 20 overs. Daryn Dupavillon starred with the ball for the Knight Riders as he picked up three wickets.

Chasing 164, the Knight Riders lost Leonardo Julien on the third ball. Colin Munro also departed cheaply as they managed to score 33 at the end of the powerplay. Tim Seifert along with his skipper Kieron Pollard tried to resurrect the innings. Both took time to settle in as the Patriots bowled tighter in the middle phase of the innings. Bravo dismissed his opposite number on 36-ball 31 and helped his side pull back things.

The required run rate climbed up as the Knight Riders failed to hit regular boundaries. Seifert tried hard and brought up his fifty but fell on 59. Andre Russell hit some lusty blows in the penultimate over and the equation came down to 16 runs from the last over. Sheldon Cottrell held his nerves and defended the total successfully. Cotrell picked up three wickets whereas Kevin Sinclair and Dwayne Bravo finished with two each to help their side win the game by seven runs.

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots finish the league stages with a win in the CPL 2022

It was a must-win game for St Kitts and Nevis Patriots and they delivered to beat the Trinbago Knight Riders convincingly. With this win, they have kept their playoffs hopes alive and may have a chance to defend their title if the other results go their way.

Trinbago Knight Riders have now lost five games so far and have seven points to their name. They have their destiny in their own hands. If they win their last game, they have a chance to seal a berth in the playoffs. They will have to be on their toes against the Guyana Amazon Warriors on Saturday.

Player of the Match

Sherfane Rutherford grabbed the Player of the Match award for his brilliant knock of 78 which helps Patriots stay alive in the tournament.

It worked well for us to bat first. It was a difficult wicket to start on. I told myself that I would take some time and it went well for me today. I was calm and enjoyed the game. I played a lot of cricket around the world and that helps me keep calm.

– Sherfane Rutherford

It was a good win. Happy with the team effort. We see this team (TKR) as the best in the tournament and we were looking forward to it. We wanted to tick all boxes and we did that today. Very important knock from Sherfane Rutherford.

– Dwayne Bravo, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots Skipper

Score Summary

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots:163/6 (20)
Best Performance(Sherfane Rutherford 78, Dewald Brevis 30*, Daryn Dupavillon 3/38)
Trinbago Knight Riders:156/7 (20)
Best Performance(Tim Seifert 59, Kieron Pollard 31, Sheldon Cottrell 3/33)
Match Result:St Kitts and Nevis Patriots beat Trinbago Knight Riders by 7 runs.

IPL 2023

You may also like...

IPL Tickets
IPL 2023
CricKex Banner