CPL 2022: Heinrich Klaasen shines in Guyana Amazon Warriors’ first win of the tournament

Heinrich Klaasen shines
Rate post

Heinrich Klaasen shines in Guyana Amazon Warriors’ first win of the tournament: Saint Lucia took on Guyana Amazon Warriors in the 13th match of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2022 at Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium in Gros Islet in St Lucia. A comprehensive win from the Warriors saw them register their first win of this year’s competition.

After being asked to bat first, the Kings got off to a sensational start. Skipper Faf du Plessis and Johnson Charles took on the bowling from the word go as the Warriors’ bowlers went on a journey in the powerplay. The Kings scored 77 at the end of the powerplay. Both the Kings openers put 93 between them before du Plessis was cleaned up Tabraiz Shamsi on 31.

The wicket of du Plessis helped the Warriors pull back things. They kept a check on the scoring rate and kept picking wickets at regular intervals. Charles was going strong from one end but lacked support from the other end. He remained unbeaten on 87 off 59 balls to help his side post 161 on the board in their 20 overs. The Warriors picked up seven wickets in total, with Keemo Paul and Shamsi finishing with two each.

Chasing 162, the Warriors got off to a steady start. Chandrapaul Hemraj was looking good but it was a short stay for him as he departed on 23. They scored 45 at the end of the first six overs for the loss of two wickets. Colin Ingram fell in the next over and they were in a spot of bother. In walked Heinrich Klaasen and played a fantastic knock.

Klaasen played some beautiful strokes and was well-supported by Shimron Hetmyer (32) and Keemo Paul (21*). Klaasen brought up his fifty and remained unbeaten on 61 to guide his side across the line in the penultimate over to win the game by six wickets. With this, they grabbed their first win of the CPL 2022.

Saint Lucia Kings’ struggles in the CPL 2022 continues

Saint Lucia Kings haven’t played to their potential in this year’s CPL. They have played five games so far and managed to win only one of those. They have two points to their name and are languishing at the bottom of the points table. Time is running out for them and will have to turn the tables around quickly.

Guyana Amazon Warriors, meanwhile, registered their first win of the CPL 2022. Their bowlers did a fine job to restrict the Kings to a low total after a solid start and then their batters stepped up to complete a clinical chase. They will be hoping to carry forward this winning momentum going ahead in the CPL 2022.

Player of the Match

Heinrich Klaasen grabbed the Player of the Match award for his match-winning knock of 61*.

I don’t see it as a perfect day of cricket. But we are glad to get over the line, first win of the season, it was a hurdle and we have managed to get it out of the way. I like to earn people’s respect by doing the hard work.

– Heinrich Klaasen

Never felt better. This is one of the games we did well collectively as a team. After the start they got and to restrict them to 160 was a fantastic effort. It was a mixture really.

– Shimron Hetmyer, Guyana Amazon Warriors Skipper

Score Summary

Saint Lucia Kings: 161/7 (20)

(Johnson Charles 87*, Faf du Plessis 31, Tabraiz Shamsi 2/14)

Guyana Amazon Warriors: 162/4 (18.2)

(Heinrich Klaasen 61*, Shimron Hetmyer 32, Jeavor Royal 2/17)

Guyana Amazon Warriors beat Saint Lucia Kings by six wickets. Heinrich Klaasen shines with bat which helps Guyana.

You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. January 16, 2023

    […] Mayers, Quinton de Kock (c & wk), Wiaan Mulder, Heinrich Klaasen, Jason Holder, Dwaine Pretorius, Keemo Paul, Keshav Maharaj, Simon Harmer, Reece Topley, Prenelan […]

  2. January 28, 2023

    […] Mayers, Wiaan Mulder, Quinton de Kock (c & wk), Heinrich Klaasen, Jason Holder, Dwaine Pretorius, Christiaan Jonker, Keshav Maharaj, Hardus Viljoen, Prenelan […]

World Cup
Indian National Cricket Team’s World cup Jersey from 1992 to 2023 Complete List Of Squads For ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 In India India Vs Pakistan Asia Cup 2023 Super 4 Highlights India’s squad for Asia Cup 2023 announced