CPL 2022: Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shakib Al Hasan help Guyana Amazon Warriors seal a berth in the playoffs

Viewers Rating 5/5 - (8 Votes)

Match 28 of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2022 saw Guyana Amazon Warriors lock horns against Trinbago Knight Riders at the Providence Stadium in Guyana. Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shakib Al Hasan help Guyana Amazon Warriors seal a berth in the plaoffs CPL 2022. A solid performance saw the Warriors beat the Knight Riders to seal a berth in the playoffs and knock the Knight Riders out of the competition.

The Guyana Amazon Warriors were asked to bat first. Rahmanullah Gurbaz gave them a very good start, despite losing Chandrapaul Hemraj early in the innings. They scored 49 at the end of the powerplay for the loss of one wicket. Shai Hope departed on 14in the eighth over and Shakib Al Hasan joined hands with Gurbaz. They both put a solid partnership, with Gurbaz bringing up his fifty.

The 60-run stand was broken when Gurbaz fell on 60. Shakib also was dismissed in the next over but both ensured that they have a platform to finish with a flourish. Cameos from skipper Shimron Hetmyer (23 off 14 balls) and Odean Smith (22* off 7 balls) powered them to 173 at the end of their 20 overs. Sunil Narine as always bowled brilliantly and finished with figures of 2/23.

The Kiwi duo of Tim Seifert and Colin Munro gave the Knight Riders a steady start. Seifert fell in the /fifth over and the scoreboard after the fielding restrictions read 47/1. Munro along with Samit Patel led the fightback but the former was dismissed on 30. This created an opening for the hosts as they kept picking wickets at regular intervals.

The Knight Riders’ batters never got going as there was no significant contributions from anyone. They lost their last six wickets for just 36 runs as they were bundled out on 136, losing the game by 37 runs. Shakib picked up three wickets with the ball for the Warriors. Junior Sinclair and Imran Tahir also chipped in with a couple of scalps as they defended the total successfully to qualify for the playoffs.

Trinbago Knight Riders get knocked out of the CPL 2022

Trinbago Knight Riders didn’t have the best of seasons. They managed to win only three games and lost six and finished at the bottom of the points table. Nothing went right for them in the CPL 2022 and would be disappointed on not making the playoffs for the first time in the tournament’s history.

Guyana Amazon Warriors, meanwhile, have sealed a berth in the playoffs. They turned the tables around in front of their home crowd and won three consecutive games to qualify for the knockout stages of the CPL 2022. They will look to finish the league stages on a high when they face the table-toppers Barbados Royals on Sunday.

Player of the Match

Shakib Al Hasan was adjudged the Player of the Match for his all-round show help Guyana.

Happy to contribute for the team. First two games didn’t do well. Today was the night for me. Our team attitude was superb. When we got 170, everyone believed we could win this. Gurbaz has been performing magnificently.

– Shakib Al Hasan

Fantastically well done by the boys. I don’t have enough words to express how great they were. Really really proud of them. Gurbaz came in and felt at home really. Back to back fifties – we can see he’s comfortable now.

– Shimron Hetmyer, Guyana Amazon Warriors Skipper


Guyana Amazon Warriors:173/6 (20)
Best Performance(Rahmanullah Gurbaz 60, Shakib Al Hasan 35, Sunil Narine 2/23)
Trinbago Knight Riders:136 (20)
Best Performance(Samit Patel 34, Colin Munro 30, Shakib Al Hasan 3/20)
Match Result:Guyana Amazon Warriors beat Trinbago Knight Riders by 37 runs.

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. January 28, 2023

    […] Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Evin Lewis, Dawid Malan, Moeen Ali (c), Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Joe Denly, Mohammad Nabi, Chris Woakes, Junaid Siddique, Naveen-ul-Haq, Karthik Meiyappan, Mark Deyal, Bilal Khan, Paul Walter, Alishan Sharafu, Noor Ahmad, Chris Benjamin, Muhammad Jawadullah, Jamal Todd […]

World Cup
Indian National Cricket Team’s World cup Jersey from 1992 to 2023 Complete List Of Squads For ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 In India India Vs Pakistan Asia Cup 2023 Super 4 Highlights India’s squad for Asia Cup 2023 announced