Umpiring Legends

Umpiring Legends Taufel and Dar Head Officials for ILT20 Season 2

5/5 - (1 vote)

Officials for ILT20 2024

Dubai, July 18, 2024: The much-anticipated ILT20 Season 2 will begin with a stellar lineup of match officials, including legendary umpires Simon Taufel and Aleem Dar Umpiring Legends. Two of the most respected umpires in cricket history Simon Taufel and Aleem Dar spearhead the ILT20 Season 2 match officials panel.

Respected Umpires at the Helm

Simon Taufel and Aleem Dar two highly respected umpires in cricket history, will lead the match officials panel for ILT20 Season 2. The duo officiated the 2011 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup final and the 2012 ICC T20 World Cup final. They will reunite for the tournament opener between Gulf Giants and Sharjah Warriors.

International Panel Inclusion

The match officials panel includes renowned umpires and match referees from different parts of the world.

Adrain Holdstock and Rod Tucker from ICC Elite Panel, Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Martin Saggers, Paul Wilson, and Leslie Reifer are among the distinguished umpires for the 34-match tournament.

Experienced Match Referees

Roshan Mahanama, Steve Bernard, and Simon Taufel, distinguished match referees, will oversee the tournament with their globally acclaimed expertise.

DP World ILT20 Season 2 Schedule

The tournament will run from January 19 to February 17, featuring 34 matches in iconic venues in Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, and Dubai.

The final is scheduled to take place on February 17 at the renowned ‘Ring of Fire’ Dubai International Stadium.

Record Holders in Action

DP World ILT20 Umpiring Legends Umpiring legend Aleem Dar, with the most Tests and ODIs as an on-field umpire, debuts

Global Cricket Stars Participating

ILT20 Season 2 features cricketing stars like David Warner, Andre Russell, David Willey, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Alex Hales, Shimron Hetmyer, Chris Jordan, Trent Boult, Nicholas Pooran, Chris Woakes, and Maheesh Theekshana.

Incorporation of Specialized TV Umpires

ILT20 Season 2 introduces specialized TV umpires – Paul Wilson from Australia and Leslie Reifer from the West Indies.

League’s Growing Popularity

DP World ILT20 has gained recognition as the second-highest watched T20 league globally, attracting cricket fans from around the world.

CC Elite Panel’s Adrian Holdstock of South Africa and Australia’s Rod Tucker will join Sri Lanka’s Ruchira Palliyaguruge, England’s Martin Saggers, Leslie Reifer of West Indies and Australia’s Paul Wilson to officiate the tournament.

The tournament provides a unique platform for players, including those from the UAE, to shine on the international stage.