Hyderabad Last Ball Victory

Hyderabad Clinch Thrilling Last Ball Victory to Deny Rajasthan

Rate this IPL post

In a breathtaking encounter at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad, the home team secured a nail-biting victory against Rajasthan by just one run.

Winning the toss and choosing to bat first, Hyderabad faced an early setback with Abhishek Sharma and Anmolpreet Singh departing cheaply. However, Travis Head and Nitish Reddy resurrected the innings with a phenomenal partnership of 96 runs for the third wicket. Travis Head played a crucial knock of 58 runs, while Nitish Reddy remained unbeaten with a blistering 76 off just 42 balls. Heinrich Klaasen quickfire 42* off 19 balls propelled Hyderabad to a formidable total of 201/3 in their allotted 20 overs. Avesh Khan was the pick of the bowlers for Rajasthan, taking two wickets.

Chasing a challenging target of 202 runs, Rajasthan got off to a disastrous start as Jos Buttler was dismissed for a golden duck. The skipper, Sanju Samson, also fell cheaply to Bhuvneshwar Kumar. However, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ryan Barrack steadied the innings with a magnificent partnership of 134 runs for the third wicket. Jaiswal scored a brisk 67 off 40 balls, while Barrack played a brilliant knock of 77 off 49 balls. Despite their efforts, Rajasthan found themselves needing 13 runs off the last over.

With Rovman Powell at the crease, Rajasthan required just two runs off the final ball to clinch victory. However, Bhuvneshwar Kumar held his nerve and bowled Powell to seal a dramatic win for Hyderabad. Bhuvneshwar finished with figures of 3 wickets, while Natarajan and captain Pat Cummins chipped in with two wickets each.

This thrilling victory marked Hyderabad sixth win in the IPL 2024 season, propelling them to the fourth position in the points table. The match will be remembered for Hyderabad remarkable ability to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat in the final moments, showcasing the unpredictable and electrifying nature of T20 cricket.