Yuzvendra Chahal IPL 200 Wickets

Yuzvendra Chahal becomes the first player to claim 200 wickets in IPL history

5/5 - (1 vote)

In a historic moment for the Indian Premier League (IPL), Rajasthan Royals’ ace spinner Yuzvendra Chahal picked up his 200th wicket, becoming the first player to achieve this remarkable feat in the tournament’s history.

Chahal achieved this milestone during the IPL 2024 match against Mumbai Indians at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. The magical moment came in the 8th over of the match when Chahal dismissed Mohammad Nabi. Bowling a conventional leg-spin delivery on the middle and leg, Nabi flicked the ball, only to find it landing safely in Chahal’s hands.

Having played 153 IPL matches, Yuzvendra Chahal has been a consistent performer in the league, maintaining an economy rate of 7.70. His best bowling figures in an innings stand at 5/40. Throughout his IPL career, Chahal has managed to claim a fifer once and has taken four wickets in an innings on six occasions. In the ongoing IPL 2024 season, Chahal has played 8 matches, picking up 13 wickets at an economy rate of 8.26. His best figures for the season are 3/11.

Despite Chahal’s incredible achievement, in the ongoing season, he is second in the list of leading wicket-takers, just below Mumbai Indians’ Jasprit Bumrah, who has also claimed 13 wickets but has a better economy rate of 5.96. Bumrah’s best bowling figures this season stand at 5/21.

Joining Chahal in the 150-wickets club are some of the legendary names in IPL history, including Dwayne Bravo (183), Piyush Chawla (181), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (174), Amit Mishra (173), Sunil Narine (172), Ravichandran Ashwin (171), Lasith Malinga (170), Jasprit Bumrah (158), Ravindra Jadeja (156), and Harbhajan Singh (150).

Bowling milestones in IPL:

RP Singh was the first bowler to claim 50 wickets in the IPL, while Lasith Malinga was the first to enter the 100-wicket club. Malinga also became the first bowler to reach the 150-wicket milestone. Now, Yuzvendra Chahal has etched his name in the history books as the first bowler to claim 200 wickets in the IPL, achieving this milestone on April 22, 2024.

IPL 2024 MI vs RR:

In the match between Mumbai Indians and Rajasthan Royals, after winning the toss, MI skipper Hardik Pandya decided to bat first. MI managed to score 151 runs in 16 overs, losing 4 wickets in the process. Currently, Tilak Varma and Nehal Wadhera are at the crease.

For RR, Sandeep Sharma took two wickets, while Trent Boult and Yuzvendra Chahal picked up one wicket each.