Legends League Cricket: All you need to know about the Legends League Cricket Trending News

Viewers Rating 5/5 - (9 Votes)

Legends League Cricket is Trending on Social Media and News: The much-anticipated tournament will be played from September 16 to October 8 across five different cities in India, namely Kolkata, New Delhi, Cuttack, Lucknow, and Jodhpur organized by Legends League management.

Though the venue for the playoffs is yet to be known, they are likely to be hosted in Dehradun for the finals. The concept of the Legends League Cricket is quite interesting as the fans get to see the superstars of the yesteryears once again take the field. 

The first season of the T20 Championship was a massive hit. Played earlier in the year, the tournament featured three teams, including the likes of India Maharajas, Asia Lions, and World Giants. The final of the league saw Giants defeating the Lions by 25 runs to lift the illustrious trophy. 

Legends League Cricket to begin with an exhibition match

Also, the first season had a total of 59 players participating in the LLC. Some of the notable players included the likes of Mohammad Kaif,  Sanath Jayasuriya, Irfan Pathan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Shoaib Akhtar, Herschelle Gibbs, Brett Lee, Kevin Pietersen, Jonty Rhodes, and others. 

LLC Special Match: Meanwhile, the second season will be much better and bigger. A total of four teams will be playing against each other. The fans will also see the participation of over 100 domestic and overseas players. The second edition of the Legends League Cricket will begin with an exhibition match between India Maharajas and World Giants.

Also Read: LLC Special Match Squad, Captain, Date & Venue

The game will be played to celebrate 75 years of India’s independence. Ganguly will be leading the Maharajas for the special match while Giants will have Eoin Morgan as their skipper. The tournament will feature players from all over the world. However, the Pakistani players are not going to be a part of the LLC 2022.

Co-founder and CEO of the league, Raman Raheja clarified that no Pakistan cricketer will be traveling to India to participate.

A look at the players who have confirmed their participation in LLC

Indian players

Sourav Ganguly, Yusuf Pathan, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, RP Singh, Sreesanth, Pravin Tambe, Virender Sehwag, Pragyan Ojha, Ashok Dinda, Stuart Binny, S. Badrinath, Joginder Sharma, Parthiv Patel, Manvinder Bisla, Naman Ojha, Reetinder Sodhi, Amit Bhandari, Rajat Bhatia, Sudeep Tyagi, Gautam Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, Mohammed Kaif

Overseas players

England: Eoin Morgan, Phil Mustard, Jade Dernbach, Dmitri Mascarenhas, Monty Panesar, Ravi Bopara, Chris Tremlett, Liam Plunkett, Nick Compton, Ryan Sidebottom, Samit Patel, Matt Prior, Tim Bresnan

Sri Lanka: Romesh Kaluwitharana, Dhammika Prasad, Thisara Perera, Upul Chandana, Farvez Mahroof, Muttiah Muralitharan, Dilhara Fernando, Ajantha Mendis, Chaminda Vaas, Upul Chandana, Russel Arnold

South Africa: Jonty Rhodes, Lance Klusener, Morne Morkel, Richard Levi, Vernon Philander, Albie Morkel, Dale Steyn, Jacques Kallis

West Indies: Denesh Ramdin, Lendl Simmons, Fidel Edwards, Ricardo Powell, Tino Best

New Zealand: Daniel Vettori, Ross Taylor, Ian Butler, Mitchell McClenaghan

Zimbabwe: Christopher Mpofu, Elton Chigumbura, Hamilton Masakadza

Australia: Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Shane Watson

Ireland: Kevin O’ Brien, John Mooney

Afghanistan: Asghar Afghan, Nawroz Mangal

Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza

Nepal: Paras Khadka

Why Legends League Cricket is trending?

The T20 event garnered a lot of attention from fans on social media by announcing the selling of two franchises. Notably, Adani and the GMR group have become owners of a team each in the Legends League Cricket. 

Adani Group

This will be a kind of redemption for Adani Group. They failed to buy the Ahemdabad franchise in the Indian Premier League last year. They were outplayed by CVC Capital. Adani Group recently also bought a team in the UAE T20 league. The Adani-owned franchise will be recognized as the ‘Gujarat Giants’ in the competition. 

Also Read: Legends League Cricket: Special Match Tickets Go live soon | Bookmyshow | Eden Gardens

Speaking about the association, Adani Enterprises Director, Pranav Adani said, as quoted by ANI, “For those of us who have lived through different eras of cricket, nothing stirs our passions like watching our favorites back in action. These are giants of the game and there is no doubt that the spiritual home of Legends League Cricket is in India, in our fantastic cricket stadiums in front of our fantastic crowds. Make no mistake, this is competitive cricket at the highest level between teams that are playing to win.”

GMR Group

As far as GMR Group are concerned, this will be their third investment in the cricket fraternity. They are co-owners of the IPL franchise Delhi Capitals while they also acquired a team in the UAE T20 League

On Friday, GMR Group announced that their newly-purchased franchise in Legends League Cricket (LLC) would be called the ‘India Capitals

GMR Group Managing Director Kiran Kumar reflected on their investment, saying, “GMR has been in close relationship with the sport of cricket for nearly two decades now. What makes this association sweeter is the fact that Legends League Cricket will feature some of the best cricketers who have played a very definitive role in popularising this beautiful sport. To see them perform in India together for the first time is a dream come true for many fans.”

ICC Warm-Up Countdown

NZ vs SA Warm Up Match (On time)

ICC World Cup News

BAN vs SL Tickets: The ticket price for the Bangladesh and Sri Lanka World Cup match in Delhi starts at ₹‎750 Onwards.
ICC Cricket live cricket match results, as they happen. Get live cricket scores and match centres, ODI Result, Scorecard, review and preview.
All-Time ODI World Cup Playing XI: Let's have a look at the all-time greatest ODI XI in ICC Cricket World Cup history.
Tim Southee's return bolsters BLACKCAPS for the ICC Cricket World Cup in India after successful thumb surgery, boosting their title hopes. Tim Southee's return bolsters BLACKCAPS for the ICC Cricket World Cup in India after successful thumb surgery, boosting their title hopes.
IND vs NED Warm-up Match Tickets: Ticket price for the India (IND) vs Nehterlands (NED) Warm-up match in starts from ₹‎300 Onwards in Thiruvananthapuram.
World Cup