LPL 2022: Jaffna Kings beat Galle Gladiator in a low scoring thriller

4.6/5 - (25 votes)

Jaffna Kings beat Galle Gladiator: What a terrific start it has been to the third edition of the Lanka Premier League. The match was looking like a one sided content after the first innings, but Kings bounced back superbly to register a 24 run victory against Gladiators.

First Innings

Galle Gladiators won the toss and elected to field. Wahab Riaz and Imad Wasim stepped up and dismissed both the openers in two consecutive overs. Riaz dismissed Gurbaz ( 1 run) and Imad Wasim sent dangerous Avishka Fernando (9 runs) back. However Dhananjaya De Silva (29 runs) and Shoaib Malik (30 runs) managed to score some runs.

Wellalage & Parera helped to post a decent total: Dunith Wellalage scored 30 runs in 20 balls with the help of 4 fours and T Parera contributed 16 runs. Both these knocks helped them to post 137 runs on the board. Riaz, Parera, Wasim, Pradeep and Ahmed shared two wickets each.

Second Innings

It seemed like a one sided content until the 7th over. Gladiators managed to score 58 runs in 7.2 overs and it was almost impossible for Kings to defend. But they came back strongly to restrict Gladiators for just 113 runs to register a 24 run victory. Except skipper Kusal Mendis, no other batmen could survive for long. Mendis scored 51 runs in 43 balls.

Amazing bowling display by Kings

After a brilliant innings with the bat, Dunith Wellalage dismissed Fernando in the 8th over for 15 runs. In the next over, Vijaykanth sent Azam Khan back to pavillion. One over later, Movin was ran out by the brilliant efforts from Parera. However Imad Wasim tried to fight but Theekshana sent Mendis back. Gladiators kept losing a wicket in every over and were all out for 113 runs.

Man of the Match

Dunith Wellalage won the man of the match award for his all-round performance.

Jaffna Kings have pulled off a heist thanks to some fantastic bowling performance at the death as they successfully defended 137-run total to beat Galle Gladiators by 24 runs in the opening match of the LPL 2022 on Tuesday.

IPL 2023

You may also like...

WPL 2023
IPL 2023
Top 10 Richest Cricketers in the World 2023
Crickex Betting Online