Smriti Mandhana has been selected RCB captain for the Women’s Premier League

Rate this post

Smriti Mandhana has been selected captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore for the first Women’s Premier League (WPL). The news was made via a video uploaded on RCB’s social media accounts, which included remarks from previous and current men’s team leaders Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis.

“Now it’s time for another No. 18 to lead a very special RCB team in WPL. Yes, we are talking about Smriti Mandhana. Go on Smriti. You have the support best team and best fans in the world,”

virat kohli

“It is an incredible privilege to captain RCB, what an incredible franchise and so much history and great players just walking through that dressing room. I am very confident that our women’s captain has all the attributes to lead RCB. All the very best, Smriti Mandhana. See you at the games,” 

faf du Plessis

Mandhana’s name was the first to come up for bidding at the WPL auction, which took place on February 13 in Mumbai. As predicted, there was a bidding battle for her, with Mumbai Indians and RCB going head-to-head before RCB bought her for INR 3.4 crore (about USD 415,000) – the highest price for any player at the auction.

Mike Hesson, the RCB’s director of cricket, intimated on the margins of the auction that Mandhana would be in command.

“Smriti has enough of leadership experience and is comfortable with Indian circumstances, therefore [she will captain],”

She has captained India in 11 T20Is, winning six (including five of the most recent) and losing five. She also captained the Trailblazers in the Women’s T20 Challenge, the WPL’s antecedent, for all four seasons, guiding the team to victory in 2020.

RCB’s WPL squad is a strong one, with the likes of Ellyse Perry, Sophie Devine, Heather Knight and Dane van Niekerk in the mix. The tournament kicks off on March 4, with Gujarat Giants taking on Mumbai Indians. RCB get going on March 5 against Delhi Capitals.

IPL 2023
WPL 2023
IPL 2023
Top 10 Richest Cricketers in the World 2023
CCL Final 2023 - WOn the toss and opt to Bat