Star Sports IPL Amazing Awards: See the complete list of Star Sports IPL Award winners

IPL 2023 Preview
5/5 - (5 votes)
IPL 2023 Preview

Star Sports IPL Amazing Awards: The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the world’s most popular and wealthiest T20 league. This competition has not only popularised cricket throughout the world, but it has also propelled the careers of several players.

The awards ceremony included several categories to recognise and honour outstanding cricketers from across the world. Former India cricketers Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh, and Irfan Pathan were among the panel members who determined the winners.

BEST CAPTAIN: Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma was overwhelmingly awarded as the ‘Best Captain’ award for his heroics in the IPL. This was a no-brainer given that he has guided his side, the Mumbai Indians, to five IPL victories. No one deserved this honour more than Rohit Sharma, who had perfected the art of winning the league with the finest team.

BEST BATTER: AB de Villiers

Amid the multiplicity of hitters that have gathered loads of runs, the judges opted to award South Africa’s AB de Villiers the ‘Best Batter’ accolade. Protea, the talismanic player, began his career with the Delhi Daredevils before joining the Royal Challengers Bangalore. He scored 5162 runs in 184 IPL innings with a strike rate of 151.69 and an average of 39.71. His best IPL score is 133.

BEST BOWLER: Jasprit Bumrah

Since 2013, Jasprit Bumrah has been a fixture with the Mumbai Indians. He has contributed to the franchise in every way conceivable and has helped them win matches in the most unlikely of circumstances. Since his debut, he has taken 145 wickets for the Mumbai franchise and has therefore been the backbone of their bowling attack.


Naturally, Andre Russell earned the ‘Incredible Overall Effect’ prize. Since joining the Kolkata Knight Riders, the West Indian has contributed to the team’s success both with the bat and with the ball. On multiple instances, he has single-handedly won matches for KKR and has been the most dependable hitter for the Men in Purple and Gold.


Consider the 2016 season, and there should be no doubt as to why Virat Kohli was picked for this prize. Who can forget his utter dominance throughout that IPL season? Kohli has been at the helm since amassing a remarkable 973 runs with four centuries in one edition, and no other batsman has ever hit more runs in any one season of the IPL. As a result, Kohli was the most apparent candidate for this award.


Sunil Narine of the Kolkata Knight Riders received the ‘Best Bowling Performance in a Season’ award. This was rightfully given to him for his amazing achievement in his debut during the 2012 IPL season. This was also the year when KKR won their first IPL title. In that tournament, the unknown spinner took 24 wickets at a 5.5 economy rate.


IPL 2023
WPL 2023
IPL 2023
Top 10 Richest Cricketers in the World 2023