Fantasy Cricket Betting
Menu Close

England crowned champions of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022: England beat Pakistan to lift the T20 World Cup 2022

5/5 - (2 votes)

England crowned champions: England are the reigning T20 World Cup holders, having beaten Pakistan in the 2022 final, winning their second title in the history of T20 World Cup

What a terrific World Cup it has been, three weeks full of cricketing drama- final match at iconic stadium between two teams who were almost out of the tournament, but somehow survived. England defeated Pakistan to become the double white ball World Champions – ODI WORLD CUP 2019 & T20 WORLD CUP 2022.


England defeated Pakistan by 5 wickets to lift the trophy of the ICC T20 World Cup and become champion of ODI and T20. The match was played on Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) in Australia.

First Innings

English skipper Jos Butler won the toss and elected to bowl first. Both the team played the same teams as semifinals. English bowlers bowled beautifully to restrict Pakistan at 137. The start player for England team Sam Curran once again stepped up & dismissed dangerous Mohammad Rizwan for just 15 runs. Adil Rashid sent Haris (8 runs) back to pavillion on a beautiful delivery. Iftikar could not open his account, while Adil Rashid caught and bowled Babar Azam (32 runs) to send Pak on backfoot.

Amazing bowling display

English bowlers gave their all to prevent Pakistani players to settle on the crease. They bowled beautifully and the captain also used the bowlers perfectly. Curran’s figure in a final match- (4-0-12-3) explains why is he the best bowler in the tournament. Rashid once again proved beneficial to the team. Pakistan could only manage to score 137 in 20 overs.

Second Innings

Chasing 138 looked difficult for England in the first half of the second innings. Alex Hales was sent back to pavillion in the very first over by Saheen Afridi. Butler and Phil Salt fell to Haris Rauf. They fell to 45-3 to 84-4 and many dot balls put pressure on England. It felt that Pakistan will pull off a thriller, but Saheen Afridi got injured while taking Harry Brook’s catch. Although he completed the catch, but it costed them the match.

Ben Stokes – The GOAT

Ben Stokes played according to the situation and analysed the field well. He stayed calmly to register his first T20I fifty to take his side home. He scored unbeated 52 to make his team win with 6 balls to spare. Ben Stokes helped England to win the ODI World Cup in 2019 as well. He played an important role in that victory as well.

If life gives you a chance to comeback, then comeback like Ben Stokes & England. In 2016 T20 World Cup Finals, West Indies All-rounder Carlos Braithwaite smashed Ben Stokes to four consecutive sixes to make his side win the title. Stokes was broken, but he came back like a true champion.

Since then, he never looked back. Same goes for this English team, after losing to Ireland and being on verge of getting knocked out, they were trolled badly, but somehow they survived and came back strongly to win their second T20 World Cup title.


Tables turned after 30 years in the same ground; Pakistan defeated England in 1992 ODI World Cup final in the MCG, but this time England turned the tables after 30 years defeating Pakistan in the same ground to lift their second T20 World Cup title.

Player of the Match & Player of the tournament

Sam Curran truly deserved the player of the tournament award for his brilliant efforts. He is also the leading wicket taker of the tournament. 13 wickets at an average of 11.38 in the tournament is ridiculous- What a tournament it has been for Sam.


England crowned champions: England are crowned T20 World Cup 2022 champions after defeating Pakistan by five wickets in MCG Ground. What a match and what a tournament.

Posted in ICC News, T20 World Cup 2022

Related Posts

FIFA World Cup Live Streaming