T20 World Cup: Most Finals Played Team in the History of T20 World Cup 2007-2022

T20 World Cup 2022
2.8/5 - (124 votes)

Most Finals Played Team in the History of T20 World Cup. Here we are going to discuss in details. Check it out for the interesting facts.

ICC T20 WORLD CUP is the prestigious tournament of the shortest format of the game organised by International Cricket Council (ICC). The first ever T20 World Cup was played in the year 2007 in South Africa where India defeated Pakistan to become the first ICC Men’s T20 World Cup winners .
Australia are the defending champions and T20 world cup will be played in Australia this year from October 16 to November 13 .

Here’s the list of the teams which played the most T20 World Cup Finals:

Sri Lanka – 3 Times

Sri Lanka is the only team played Most Finals in the history. Sri Lanka has played in the most finals (2009, 2012, 2014) – Team to play the most in the history of ICC T20 World Cup, is Sri Lanka.

  • The Sri Lankan team displayed the best game and made it to the final in the T20 World Cup held in England in 2009 where they had to face defeat to Pakistan.
  • After this, Sri Lanka once again made it to the final in the 2012 tournament held at home, but once again the team lost to the West Indies and became runners up.
  • In 2014, the Sri Lankan team corrected their mistakes and performed brilliantly and won the title by defeating the Indian team in the final.
  • Overall, the Sri Lankan team has reached the finals three times so far and has captured the title once.

Check out for more information about T20 World Cup on Criiic.com

India – 2 Times

India – The first edition of the ICC T20 World Cup was won by the Indian team by defeating Pakistan. The tournament was held in South Africa and under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the Indian team registered a historic victory.

However, after this, the Indian team had to wait for 7 years to reach the finals. In the T20 World Cup held in Bangladesh in 2014, the Indian team made it to the finals where the Sri Lankan team defeated them.

After this, the Indian team could never reach the finals and last year the Indian team was eliminated from the group stage.

West Indies – 2 Times

West Indies – West Indies have the best player of T20 cricket and that is why this team has captured the title when it has made it to the finals. The West Indies team has so far reached the finals twice and both times the West Indies have won the title.

The West Indies are also the most ICC Twenty20 World Cup winning team. In the Twenty20 World Cup held in Sri Lanka in 2012,

West Indies defeated Sri Lanka in 2012, and in 2016, won the title by winning England in the T20 World Cup held in India.

Pakistan – 2 Times

Pakistan – Pakistan’s team has also made it to the finals twice in the history of ICC T20 World Cup. In the T20 World Cup 2007, Pakistan’s team reached the finals where they got a crushing defeat from the Indian team. However, Pakistan made a brilliant comeback to the next T20 World Cup, defeating Sri Lanka in 2009 and won the title. But after this, Pakistan’s team never reached the final.

England – 2 Times

England – England team has also played the final of the ICC T20 World Cup twice. The England team performed brilliantly at the T20 World Cup held in the West Indies in 2010 and won the title by defeating Australia in the final. After this, the Sri Lankan team reached the final in 2016 where the West Indies team defeated them while performing a brilliant game.

Australia – 2 Times

Australia – Australian team had dominated the ODI World Cup but failed to do so in the T20 World Cup. In 2010, Australia’s team reached the finals but England defeated them. After this, the Australian team got a chance to play the final after 11 years, which they took advantage of well and defeated New Zealand to win the title in 2021. This time the T20 World Cup will be in Australia and the Australia team will try their best to save their title.

T20 World Cup Winner Summary

Here is the Summary of T20 World Cup Winner in History

SeasonHost / VenueWinnerRunner-UpWinner’s Match Result for Final
2007South AfricaIndiaPakistanIndia won by 5 runs
2009EnglandPakistanSri LankaPakistan won by 8 wickets
2010West IndiesEnglandAustraliaEngland won by 7 wickets
2012Sri LankaWest IndiesSri LankaWest Indies won by 36 runs
2014BangladeshSri LankaIndiaSri Lanka won by 6 wickets
2016IndiaWest IndiesEnglandWest Indies won by 4 wickets
2021UAE and OmanAustraliaNew ZealandAustralian Men’s Cricket Team
Australia won the final match against New Zealand by 8 wickets
T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2022

IPL 2023

You may also like...

WPL 2023
IPL 2023
Top 10 Richest Cricketers in the World 2023
Crickex Betting Online