Menu Close

T20 World Cup semi-final – Everything you need to know

ICC Mens T20 World Cup 2021

T20 World Cup semi-final matches confirmed: Everything you need to know about the teams, fixtures and structure of the semi-finals of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 reaches its climax on 10 November when the knockout rounds kick off. Until the winner of this edition of the World Cup is crowned, four matches remain – the final Super 12 match, three knockout rounds. Here’s what you need to know before the knockouts.

The fixtures – Schedule you need to know about

Semi-final 1: England v New Zealand at Abu Dhabi, 10 November
Semi-final 2: Pakistan v Australia at Dubai, 11 November

Both of the matches start at 6:00pm local time.

The final four of T20 World Cup 2021 semi-final

The semi-finalists for this edition are: England, Australia, Pakistan and New Zealand.

The final four were decided after a hard-fought Super 12 stage, where the top two teams from each group made it through. While England and Australia qualified from Group 1, Pakistan and New Zealand made it from Group 2. 

Group 1 went down to the wire, with the teams having to wait till the final match, which was England v South Africa, for the top two to be clear. Both England and Australia won four out of five games in the group, with England taking top spot based on net run rate. South Africa too won four games in the group, but missed out on net run rate.

Pakistan are the only team among the four to be unbeaten so far. They won all games in Group 2, while New Zealand won four of their five matches, confirming their place in the top two with a win over Afghanistan in their final match.

Reserve day – What if the Match is abandoned?

There is a reserve day for both semi-finals. The match will be completed on the scheduled day with any necessary reductions in overs taking place. The match will only be completed on the reserve day if the necessary number of overs (at least five overs per side) are not bowled on the scheduled day. If a match starts on the scheduled day and overs are reduced following an interruption but no further play is possible, the match will resume on the reserve day at the point where the last ball was played.

In case of a tie – What if the match is tie T20 World Cup semi-final?

If any of the semi-final matches are tied, a Super Over is played. If the Super Over is a tie, then subsequent Super Overs shall be played until there is a winner. Unless exceptional circumstances arise, there shall be an unlimited number of Super Overs played to achieve a result.

If following a tie, weather conditions prevent the Super Over from being completed, or if the match is abandoned or a no result, then the team that finished first in its Super 12s Group will progress to the final. 

According to the playing conditions, in circumstances where there are unavoidable time constraints (for example, a requirement to switch off floodlights at a certain time) which do not allow the completion of multiple Super Overs, the Match Referee may limit the number of possible Super Overs and shall advise both captains accordingly prior to the start of the first Super Over. 

Don’t forget to cast your vote for the T20 World Cup Winner Poll.

Check out T20 World Cup 2021 Points Table

Glimpse of Semi-Finalist team T20 World Cup

ICC T20I ranking: No.2 – Pakistan | No.1 T20 World Cup semi-finalist

No. 1 Team Pakistan
Pakistan – T20 World Cup semi-final

Squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shoaib Malik

ICC T20I ranking: No.1 England

Road to semis: As a team, Pakistan has been undefeated in the Super 12s, their bowling and batting both clicking in tandem. They were the only team in which the toss had not played a significant role, scoring big even when batting first.

Squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Reece Topley

T20 World Cup semi-final England
England Cricket – T20 World Cup semi-final

Road to semis: England dominated the first few games of the Super 12 and Jos Buttler struck the first century of the World Cup. However, they were hit by injuries to Tymal Mills and Jason Roy in their last two games, which could hurt their balance in the semi-final.

Key player: Opener Jos Butter has been their top scorer, with 240 runs in five matches, including a high score of 101*. His runs have come at a strike-rate of 155.84. On surfaces where batters have taken time to get in, he’s given himself a few balls to settle before going on the attack.

ICC T20I ranking: No.6 – Australia

T20 World Cup semi-final Aussies
Aussie – T20 World Cup semi-final

Squad: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Road to semis: Australia started slowly and were overwhelmed by England, but they fought back strongly with big wins over Bangladesh and West Indies boosting their NRR. The opening pair of Aaron Finch and David Warner have been in excellent touch, their formidable pace attack has been incisive, and spinner Adam Zampa has struck regularly in the middle overs. 

ICC T20I ranking: No.4 NEW ZEALAND

T20 World Cup semi-final
Kiwis – T20 World Cup semi-final

Squad: Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway (wk), Adam Milne, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

Road to semis: New Zealand bounced back after a loss to Pakistan to win four games in a row. They have been consistent throughout, able to pace their game and flip a switch and turn the pressure on their opponents as needed. Their bowlers, led by Trent Boult and Tim Southee have been excellent, while Martin Guptill played one of the knocks of the tournament so far. 

Who will win the trophy for T20 World Cup from the 4 semi-finalists for this edition such as England, Australia, Pakistan and New Zealand.

Source –

Related Post

Related Posts

Posted in Cricket Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, T20 World Cup

Related Posts

Asia Cup
Asia Cup Winners in History – Asia Cup Winners List 1984-2022 10 Facts You Should Know About The Asia Cup Pakistan Squad Asia Cup 2022 in UAE Announced Balamani Amma: Doodle, Biography, Quotes, Books, Poem and Awards The Legacy of Oskar Sala – Google Doodle Celebrates Today
Asia Cup Winners in History – Asia Cup Winners List 1984-2022