WPL 2023: Meg Lanning Named As Delhi Capitals Captain for the Women’s IPL

Meg Lanning Delhi Capitals Captain
5/5 - (11 votes)

Mega Lanning Delhi Capitals Captain: Australia’s T20 World Cup 2023-winning captain Meg Lanning has been named as the captain of the Delhi Capitals franchise in Women’s Premier League 2023. India batter Jemimah Rodrigues has been appointed as the vice-captain of the side, the franchise said on Thursday, March 2. Lanning led Australia to three T20 World Cup victories as captain, and she also won the 2022 ODI World Cup in New Zealand.

Harmanpreet Kaur was selected captain of the Mumbai Indians the day before. Harman is also the captain of India, which advanced to the ICC T20 World Cup 2023 semi-finals before falling to Australia. Harman against Lanning was a major international cricket match.

Lanning has represented Australia in six Tests, 103 One-Day Internationals, and 132 Twenty20 Internationals, scoring 345, 4602, and 3405 runs in each event. With Lanning’s selection as Delhi Capitals captain, we now know the names of all five captains competing in the first Women’s Premier League. Harmanpreet Singh will captain the Mumbai Indians, while Alyssa Healy will lead the UP Warriorz. Smriti Mandhana will captain Royal Challengers Bangalore, while Beth Mooney will captain Gujarat Giants.

It will be intriguing to watch how Lanning performs in his new role as DC captain. She has been the finest leader in the women’s game. The current Australian women’s cricket team is widely regarded as the greatest in the world, having won every major tournament. Lanning’s squad has won all ICC trophies, from the ODI World Cup to the T20 World Cup. They accomplished a three-peat by winning the T20 WC 2023.

IPL 2023
WPL 2023
IPL 2023
Top 10 Richest Cricketers in the World 2023