IPL 2016 Champions

Sunrisers Hyderabad Crowned IPL 2016 Champions in Sensational Final

5/5 - (1 vote)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2016 final held on May 29, 2016, at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru was a nail-biting encounter between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore. Sunrisers emerged victorious in a high-scoring game, securing the IPL 2016 Champions with an 8-run win over their opponents.

The IPL 2016 final, held at Bengaluru’s M. Chinnaswamy Stadium on May 29, 2016, witnessed a thrilling clash between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore. Sunrisers emerged triumphant in a high-scoring encounter, securing the title with an 8-run win over their opponents.

In pursuit of the challenging target of 209 runs, Royal Challengers Bangalore fought hard but managed to reach 200/7 in their 20 overs The chase was led by Virat Kohli, who was in sensational form throughout the tournament.

Ben Cutting not only contributed with the bat but also shone with the ball, taking 2 wickets for 35 runs in his allotted overs. His all-round performance played a pivotal role in Sunrisers Hyderabad’s triumph.

Virat Kohli was awarded the Player of the Series for his exceptional batting throughout the IPL season Kohli amassed a staggering 973 runs, setting a new record for the highest run tally in a single IPL season.

PositionTeamMatchesWinsLossesTiesNo ResultPointsNRRRuns For/Against
1Gujarat Lions14950018-0.3742130/264.3, 2285/271.1
2Royal Challengers Bangalore148600160.9322613/270.2, 2345/268.3
3Sunrisers Hyderabad148600160.2452082/259.5, 2078/267.3
4Kolkata Knight Riders148600160.1062123/253.2, 2121/256.2
5Mumbai Indians14770014-0.1462194/272.2, 2190/267.0
6Delhi Daredevils14770014-0.1552040/259.1, 2107/262.3
7Rising Pune Supergiants145900100.0152025/244.5, 1991/241.1
8Kings XI Punjab14410008-0.6462134/269.4, 2224/259.5

The IPL 2016 final will be remembered for its high-scoring drama, with Sunrisers Hyderabad emerging as the deserving champions.

Comments are closed.