Menu Close

ACB Announced Squad for T20 World cup. Mohammad Nabi named captain of Afghan

5/5 - (5 votes)

Afghanistan Squad: ACB name final T20 World Cup squad with Mohammad Nabi as captain announced on thursday. Veteran all-rounder Mohammad Nabi has been named Afghanistan skipper for the upcoming T20 World Cup.

“The Asia Cup was a very good opportunity for the team to buildup things nicely for the much-important global event in Australia. Fortunately, Darwish Rasooli has recovered from injury (broken finger) and we are happy to have him available for the WT20, he has demonstrated good glimpses of him in the previously held Shpageeza Cricket League 2022 and offers an additional batting option to our middle order. Since the Australian conditions offer further support for the fast bowlers, so we have added Salim Safi, the tall right-arm quick to add further impetus to our bowling department. Overall we have picked our best available players for the event and we are hopeful of them to do well and better represent the country in the mega event.”

Chief selector Noor Malikzai

Changes in the Afghanistan Team Plan

Missed Out Samiullah Shinwari, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Karim Janat and Noor Ahmad
Addition the middle-order batter Darwish Rasooli, the leg-spinning allrounder Qais Ahmad and the right-arm quick Salim Safi have made it to the 15-member cut.
Reserves Afsar Zazai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Rahmat Shah and Gulbadin Naib have been added to the squad as reserves.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 Afghanistan Schedule

Group A – Sri Lanka, Namibia and Two Qualifiers 
Group B – West Indies, Scotland and Two Qualifiers 
Group 1 – Afghanistan, Australia, England, New Zealand, Winner of Group A and Runners of Group B
Group 2 – India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, Winner of Group B and Runners of Grop A

22 October – Afghanistan v England, Perth
26 October – Afghanistan v New Zealand, Melbourne
28 October – Afghanistan v TBA, Melbourne 
01 November – Afghanistan v TBA, Brisbane 
04 November – Afghanistan v Australia, Adelaide 
09-10 November – Semi-Finals
13 November – Final

Afghanistan Squad

Squad: Mohammad Nabi (C), Najibullah Zadran (VC), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Azmatullah Omarzai, Darwish Rasooli, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Mujib ur Rahman, Naveen ul Haq, Qais Ahmad, Rashid Khan, Salim Safi and Usman Ghani.

READ MORE: Best Asia Cup XI

Reserves: Afsar Zazai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Rahmat Shah and Gulbadin Naib are the four players, who are part of the team as reserves.